Discovering History At Muker – Wain Wath Force

My short journey to reach the Cart Ford above the Foss, where you cross the Rushing River, began by The Small Cultivated Field. I passed through The Clearing, then on up the Dale, gaining height as I climbed through Grazing Land. If I’d been visiting my friend Waendel at his Woodland Clearing I’d have taken the pass before The Clearing, careful not to stumble and fall into the potholes full of cooling butter, and down past Sigemund’s Rock, or perhaps climbed up the hill to see if Sjon was at his Look Out Hill, then down past the Row of Shepherds Cottages. But today it was to the Cart Ford I was headed, to take photographs of the Foss and just beyond The Spring I found the very spot.

Richard

(Translations below 🙂 )

 

DP0Q1579-Edit
Below Wain Wath Force | Sigma DP0 Quattro  

 

DP3M1522
Below Wain Wath Force |Sigma DP3 Merrill
DP3M1525
Below Wain Wath Force | Sigma DP3 Merrill
DP3M1519
Below Wain Wath Force | Sigma DP3 Merrill

Old Norse & Old English Translations, with thanks to http://www.daelnet.co.uk/placenames/index.cfm

Cart Ford (Wain Wath)

Foss (Waterfall)

Rushing River (Swale)

The Small Cultivated Field (Muker)

The Clearing (Thwaite)

The Grazing Land (Angram)

The Spring (Keld)

Sigemund’s Rock (Simonstone)

Sjon’s look out hill (Shunner Fell)

Shepherds Row  of Cottages (Hardraw).

Waendel at his Woodland Clearing (Wensleydale)

 

 

 

 

Leave a comment